Towpath Taskforce Events in Audlem

Home » Newsroom » Towpath Taskforce Events in Audlem
Bridge 80 of The Shropshire Union Canal

Every Wednesday from April until the end of August, CRT will be holding the summer-months' mid-week Wednesday evening Towpath Taskforce events at Audlem.

The mid-week evening taskforce parties are open events, for everyone, to come along and get some fresh air, meet new friends, learn new skills with something for everyone, and undertake a little task making big improvements to the environment of the canal and its surroundings.

The taskforce events are never more than a few hours on the Wednesday evening, generally are non-strenuous and even include fact-finding, educational or social outings as part of the calendar of events.

The taskforce events will take place every Wednesday, from 5.30pm, meeting at the Shroppie Fly at Audlem, unless there is a change for an event, details of which will be sent out as an invite for that event.

Some of the tasks this year will be painting the locks at Audlem and Hack Green, along with gardening at Lock 15 for the new volunteer base.

Social and educational events this year include a trip to Bradley workshop's near Wolverhampton to see how lock-gates are manufactured, day boat trips in August from Audlem to Barbridge and at Norbury and fact finding visits to Bratch locks, Stretton Aqueduct and Belvide Reservoir to name but a few.

If you'd like to attend please come along and have a chat with Dek Owen who is the volunteers coordinator and who will provide refreshments and snacks (coffee, soft drinks, biscuits and snacks), all you need to provide is suitable outdoor clothing and some supper. The meeting point and parking is at the Shroppie Fly, Audlem, CW3 0DX at 5.30pm.

15 April Midweek Evening Audlem — Lock 3 tidy up
22 April Midweek Evening Contingency — (Weather catch up week)
29 April Refresh paint on Lock 10, Lock 9 and Lock 8 Bottom gates
06 May Refresh paint on Lock 7, Lock 6, Lock 5 and Lock 4
09 May Saturday — Refresh paint on Lock 13 top gate, Lock 14 and Lock 15
13 May Wednesday — Weather catch up week
20 May Wednesday — Coxbank/Audlem — Refresh paint on Lock 3, Lock 8 Top gate
27 May Contingency — (Weather catch up week) and/or Lock 11 Top gates
03 June Wednesday — Weather catch up week
10 June Wednesday — Hack Green — Painting preparation works
13 June Saturday Hack Green — Building, Benches, Totems and Signs — Paint
17 June Wednesday — Hack Green — Top Lock — Paint
24 June Wednesday — Hack Green — Bottom Lock — Paint
01 July Wednesday — Weather catch up week or snagging at Hack Green
08 July Wednesday — Audlem — crane wharf wall edge, safety fences, services — remove weeds / Paint
11 July Saturday Coxbank — Lock 1 and Lock 3 (Coxbank) — Refresh, paint and tidy lock area
15 July Wednesday — Audlem — Refresh paint Lock 13 Bottom gates, Lock 11 Bottom Gates
22 July Wednesday Weather catch up week)- and/or trip out to Belvide and Stretton
24 July Friday — Daytime Audlem historic gathering of boats, daytime VLK assistance, litter picking etc
25 July Saturday — All day Audlem historic gathering of boats, daytime VLK duties assistance needed
26 July Sunday — All day Audlem historic gathering of boats, daytime VLK duties assistance needed
29 July Wednesday — Midweek Evening Audlem — Painting benches, tables etc between Lock 15 and Lock 11
05 August Wednesday — Midweek Evening Audlem — Painting benches, tables etc between Lock 10 and Lock 2
08 August Saturday Coxbank — Lock 2 — Refresh, paint and tidy lock area, "Welcome to Audlem" sign and access stile
12 August Wednesday — Midweek day Boat trip along the Shroppie, Audlem to Barbridge (TBC)
19 August Wednesday — Midweek Evening Audlem — Paint Lock mooring pins Lock 1 — Lock 8
26 August Wednesday — Midweek Evening Audlem — Paint Lock mooring pins Lock 15 — Lock 7
02 September Wednesday — Midweek Evening Weather catch up week
12 September Saturday Audlem — Repair low level fence along access road adjacent to the mill
10 October Saturday Audlem — Repair low level fence along access road adjacent to the mill
14 November Saturday Audlem — Tidy the area around and at the back of Lock 15
12 December Saturday Audlem — Repair services ceiling

Marina News

Roadworks in the local area
Roadworks in local area
Thu 22 Jun
A Cheese scone at Cafe at Bridge 80
Cafe open 9.30am to 4pm EVERY DAY
Thu 18 May
A delicious meal
Cafe at Bridge 80 under new management
Thu 11 May
Tractor Rally
Vintage Tractor Rally
Thu 11 May

Janet's Blog

Overwater 2016
Pedalling around
Mon 01 May
Spring 2017
The strangest month!
Sat 01 Apr
Marina of Distinction Award
You missed one!
Wed 01 Feb
The Overwater Bridge
Happy New Year
Sun 01 Jan